Boar's Head is the only AAA Four Diamond resort in Charlottesville. With a warm and intimate ambiance and exceptional southern hospitality, the award-winning resort offers 168 elegant rooms and suites, excellent dining, a vast array of recreational activities, a luxury spa, and over 20,000 square feet of meeting facilities situated on a 600-acre property.
The beautiful rolling Virginia countryside on which Boar’s Head is situated has a rich history dating back some 280 years and includes ties to Thomas Jefferson. In 1734, the 3,000-acre tract was part of Virginia’s first land grant. In 1759, Terrell’s Ordinary, an inn welcoming westward travelers, opened at the exact location of the present day Boar’s Head Resort.
In 1959, John Rogan, a UVA graduate, and John Rhea built the Boar's Head Inn, incorporating a treasured gristmill from a nearby Hardware River site, and after carefully dismantling and numbering each piece, he had it reconstructed at its present site.